Patience and Time

Lisa meets me by the vending machine and says “Do you want to smell my watch? It smells like an old man.”

“Yes,” I say. She holds up her wrist for me. It does in fact smell like an old man. “That is exactly what one smells like. The powder one uses.”

“I took it in to get it shrunk and he gave it back to me and it smelled like this.”

“Nice.”

“So how do you get the old man smell out of a watch?”

“Same way you shed the skin of a broken heart,” I said. “Patience. And time.”

Leave a Reply

