I Was Waiting Because You Were Waiting

When I got to the train platform, there were people who had gotten there before me. They were waiting for the train to come. So I waited for the train to come too. They said the voice had said the train was coming. Who was I to question it? Surely they must know, they have been here longer. They must know what they’re doing.

The train never came though, not for a long time. And I never heard the voice myself. And I began to wonder if they had heard the voice at all. Suppose these weren’t the first people here on this train platform. Suppose there were people ahead of them who also told them to wait for the train. That the voice had said the train was coming. Suppose those people hadn’t heard the voice themselves either.

At some point, you’d have to come to the first people on the train platform to ever wait for the train. Suppose they didn’t hear the voice. Suppose there was no voice.

But where had those people gone? Surely those people would still be here. One could assume they were now not here because a train had definitely come. But what if that were not the case? What if they just stopped waiting. Where did they go?

I wanted to stop waiting.

Leave a Reply

